Kent Nelson

Kent Nelson has published four novels and five story collections. His novel, Land That Moves, Land That Stands Still (Viking Penguin), won the Mountains and Plains Booksellers Award and his story collection, The Spirit Bird, won the 2014 Drue Heinz Literature Prize from the University of Pittsburgh Press. He is an avid birder and has twice run the Pikes Peak Marathon. He lives in Ouray, Colorado.

Spring 1989

Black Stars

By Kent Nelson

Rachel sat up in her sleeping bag and listened to the wind. Leaves tattered in the darkness above the tent like birds hovering. She slid forward in her bag and […]


By Kent Nelson

The lynx steps from the forest and scratches down the snowy bank onto the lake ice blown clean by wind. The animal is as gray as the low clouds that […]